2021 Edison Achievement Award

Reinhold Schmieding

President and Founder, Arthrex

Reinhold Schmieding is President and Founder of Arthrex Inc., a world leader in orthopedic surgical device design, research, manufacturing and medical education committed to one mission: Helping Surgeons Treat Their Patients Better™.

His wealth of surgical device industry experience spans more than 40 years and he holds over 150 patents for orthopedic surgical instruments and implants. Reinhold is originally from Bloomfield Hills, Michigan and graduated from Michigan State University with a Bachelor of Science in Physiology in 1977 and founded Arthrex in Munich, Germany in 1981 by developing some of the first surgical instruments for arthroscopic knee surgery.

Since Reinhold’s return to the U.S. after ten years of building Arthrex in Europe, the company has operated out of its Naples, Florida headquarters since 1991, beginning with two employees. Arthrex now currently employs more than 4,000 corporate and manufacturing staff in the United States, as well as over 3,000 US sales professionals and 1,800 employees in worldwide subsidiaries, and exports to over 100 countries around the world.

Reinhold has led the product development and marketing of over 14,000 surgical products and related surgical techniques, working with leading orthopedic surgeons and has led the issuance of over 1,800 patents and patents pending for Arthrex. Each year the Arthrex Medical Education division successfully hosts hundreds of surgical skills training programs for orthopedic surgeons and other health care providers from around the world at Arthrex’s many medical education facilities.

Innovation and medical education are the heart and soul of Arthrex.


More information about Arthrex can be found at: www.arthrex.com

Learn more at:

Every year, the Edison Awards honors one or more individuals who, through their careers, their leadership and their achievements, have distinguished themselves by making a significant and lasting contribution to the world of innovation. View more Edison Achievement Award Winners.